Monday, January 30, 2023

Voting abroad: 15 cities to have polling stations

In 2019, the number of votes did not exceed one thousand. Photo La Hora courtesy Chapins de Corazon Houston

Thanks to this electoral process, expatriates will again be able to cast their vote for the presidential bicameralism in the United States. Registered compatriots will have the possibility to vote in 15 cities of that country.

The cities where Vote Centers will be located are Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego, California; Houston and Dallas, Texas; Miami and Orlando, Florida; Atlanta, Georgia; Raleigh, North Carolina; Charlotte, South Carolina; Arlington, Virginia; Queens, New York; Trenton, NJ; Chicago, Illinois: and Henderson, Nevada.

As previously reported, polling stations will be defined between January and February, but the aim is to use educational centers, parks, churches and the like to reduce costs.

registered abroad

There are 80,639 registered abroad according to the Supreme Electoral Tribunal (TSE) data. This is 0.90 percent of the total enrollment.

An estimated 2,813,983 Guatemalans are living in the United States as of December 2022, by Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MINEX) calculations.

In addition to DPI applications for Guatemalans living abroad, there are 428,243 in that North American country alone.

In a press conference on January 10, Magistrate Blanca Alfaro explained that the states where this would take place are similar to the 2019 process, but “they are bringing the vote closer” to those where there are more than 500 registered voters.


The 51 states were divided into four constituencies, which were defined as follows:

Constituency 1: North Eastern States

Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Constituency 2: South East States

Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Tennessee.

Constituency 3: Central State

Arkansas, Colorado, North Dakota, South Dakota, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, and Wisconsin.

Constituency 4: Western States

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here