Immigrants who do not have papers of residence in the United States can obtain a driver’s license in several states and the city of Washington, DC by meeting certain requirements.
Although some people believe that obtaining a driver’s license if you don’t have a green card is risky, the organization United We Dream — which defends the undocumented — provides licenses issued by state DMV offices for these people. Throws light on several reasons for doing so.
“It allows you to drive safely in your state, and makes it easier to commute to work, visit friends and family, run errands and more,” the organization says. “Most people keep their driver’s license in a purse or purse that contains other items such as cash, checks or a phone. If you lose that bag or wallet, your driver’s license should allow someone to return your items to you.” could.”
License requirements for undocumented people
States have similar requirements that allow undocumented immigrants to obtain driver’s licenses, but this right is based on different laws, which may differ in some requirements.
“It is important to thoroughly review those requirements before applying to make sure you have everything you need,” recalls United We Dream.
How to process a driver’s license in New York without papers
All applicants for driver’s licenses must show a combination of documents proving the individual’s name, date of birth, and New York State residency.
- Valid and current foreign passport.
- Valid consular identification document.
- A valid and unexpired foreign driver’s license that includes a photograph.
- US municipal ID card with photo (for example, New York City ID).
- Decree issued by a court for foreign marriage or divorce registration or change of name.
- Foreign Birth Certificate.
- Cost varies by age (if under 21) between $64 and $100.
How to process a driver’s license in New Jersey without papers
- Identity proof document.
- Proof of Address in New Jersey.
- A Social Security number or ITIN, if you have one.
- If you do not have an ITIN, you can provide an affidavit to satisfy this requirement.
- Please Note: Any document in a language other than English requires a “Certificate”
- The cost varies, between $24 and $35 dollars.
How to Process a Driver’s License Without Papers in Illinois
- Proof of residence in Illinois for at least 12 months.
- Pass vision, written and driving test.
- Once the required test is passed, the person will receive a temporary paper document with a high level of security, valid for 90 days and serve as a driving license for the sole purpose of driving.
- Cost is $30 dollars.
- Remember: The document has been marked as “not valid for recognition”. They cannot use the license to board an airplane, enter federal buildings, register to vote, or apply for a Firearm Owner Identification (FOID) card.
How to process a driver’s license in California without papers
In California this is known as an AB 60 driver’s license, for which you must:
- Complete an application (DL/ID).
- Provide proof of identification and California residency.
- Pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Scan your fingerprint.
- Pass an eye exam.
- Get your photo taken.
- Pass the knowledge test.
- Pass road sign test (if applicable).
- Take a driving test behind the wheel (if applicable).
- Provide proof of financial responsibility (auto insurance) that meets or exceeds California insurance requirements.
- Cost is $33 dollars.
- Applicants under the age of 18 must also provide proof that they have completed driver’s education.
How to process a driver’s license in Colorado without papers
All documents must be unaltered certified originals, certified modified originals, or original copies or certified by the issuing agency. Photocopies, notarized documents and online print are not accepted.
- Foreign passport.
- Consular ID card.
- military identification document.
- ITIN Card (not laminated).
- Letter from the Internal Revenue Service.
- Certified State Tax Return.
- Colorado Tax Return Filing Stubs for the Immediate Year
- Documents proving Colorado residency: Utility bill (with service address); bank or credit card statement; lease or mortgage details; insurance policy; phone bill.
Check here Other states grant licenses to undocumented immigrants, but in Massachusetts, for example, the new law will go into effect in July 2023.