San Francisco: Meta-owned WhatsApp has announced that it is introducing new options in your privacy control settings to protect the privacy of online users. The company wrote on the microblogging site that now users can choose from their contact list who can see their profile picture, about and last seen status.Also read- WhatsApp feature update: Users will get another privacy option, can backup data from Android to iPhone. details inside
“The security of you and your messages is what matters to us. We want you to know about the tools and features we have designed to help you stay safe when using WhatsApp,” the company said in its FAQ On the FAQ page, WhatsApp said that users can set your last seen, profile photo, about, or status to the following options – everyone: your last seen, profile photo, about My Contacts: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to your contacts only from your address book. Also Read – Snapchat Will Display Nearby Local Restaurants In Snap Map
My Contacts Except… : Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to your contacts from your address book, except those you exclude. None: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will not be available to anyone. The company also said to be mindful of what you share. Also read- Snapchat introduces new ‘Shared Stories’ feature. details inside
“We encourage you to think carefully before deciding to share something with your WhatsApp contacts. Consider whether you want other people to see what you sent,” the company said. “When you share a chat, photo, video, file or voice message with someone else on WhatsApp, they will have a copy of these messages. They have the ability to forward or share these messages with other people if they wish,” it added.
WhatsApp said that it also has a location feature that users can use to share their location in a WhatsApp message. Users should only share their location with people they trust.