WhatsApp has made many changes to the instant messaging application, especially in the Android version. The goal of Meta is to make the user interface more modern and adapt it for new functions that will soon come to the official platform.
As you remember, in the first redesign they changed the location of the tabs “Communities”, “Chats”, “States” and “Calls”, they are no longer at the top, but at the bottom, and they also added some icons. to identify them easily.
In the second redesign they eliminated the “Status” section and replaced it with “News”, they also added your profile picture next to the magnifying glass tool. Finally, in the third change they took the classic icon of three points.
The profile photo will take the role of three dots, although in a different way, by pressing it you can access all the settings of your account, here you can see the QR code shortcuts, profile settings, privacy and contact list, no. However, many people don’t notice the arrow next to your name, what is it for? We will explain it below.
Find out what the arrow next to your WhatsApp name is for
- First, it is necessary to highlight that this is a part of WhatsApp beta for Android, it will soon reach the stable version.
- This is not an application design, it is an important tool called “Add account”.
- Also known as “Multi-account support”.
- Basically this is a feature that allows you to add and manage a second account in the same app.
- You don’t close the main one and you can change accounts whenever you want.
- How to use it? Press the arrow and a window will be shown below.
- Your existing account will appear and “Add account”, touch later.
- Finally, proceed to register the second number.
Why you should hide your WhatsApp profile picture
- The first reason is that everyone can see it. If you have not configured your privacy and your image is visible to strangers, just by adding your number to their cell phone, they can access that information and, as a result, get it.
- Another detail is that it is better to only share the profile picture with your friends or some contacts you trust. To do this, go to Settings, Privacy, Profile photo and choose who you want to share this information with.
- In addition, anyone can take a photo and share it with anyone. WhatsApp has not yet implemented a way to notify you that someone has taken a screenshot of your item.
- If for some reason it’s your cell phone at work and you use WhatsApp, it’s best not to post anything to stay neutral.