Friday, February 3, 2023

Winter driving tip: Driving with snow and ice on your car is illegal and could cost you money

Driving in the winter comes with a number of pesky rituals you must perform in order to drive safely. One of the worst is clearing the car of snow and ice before driving. This can take forever and is easily reached. Well, it turns out we shouldn’t be in a rush to clear the snow. Snow and ice not only affect your vision, but are also dangerous for other drivers. For this, it is illegal in many states and you may have to pay a heavy fine. Winter Driving Tip: Don’t drive with snow and ice on your car. It is illegal.

Is it illegal to drive with snow and ice on your car?

According to Car and Driver, at least two states have laws named after people who were killed by snow falling from someone else’s car. In fact, Car and Driver points to a New Hampshire driver who was charged with vehicular assault, reckless conduct and reckless driving after a sheet of snow blew off one truck and shattered the windshield of the other driver. Due to which the driver was injured.

A Twitter post from the Washington State Police tells the story of another driver this week who was fined $553 for driving with ice on his windshield. The driver who received the ticket was charged with negligent winter driving because his windshield was almost completely covered in snow. While the photo makes it hard to believe someone would drive into her driveway, much less a driveway with such poor visibility, the Twitter post says the driver was five miles from her home.

Are there any special tips for winter driving?

Yes, New Hampshire is one of the strictest states with winter driving laws. Jessica’s Law, a law enacted after the death of Jessica Smith when falling snow caused a multiple-car collision, imposes a minimum fine of $250 on drivers for having snow and ice on their cars. People who get this ticket more than once can be fined up to $1,000. Three times are points on the license or even a temporary suspension.

Pennsylvania has a similar law known as Christine’s Law, named after the equally tragic Ice Cap incident, with fines starting at $50 and going up to $100 depending on frequency of violation and severity. 1,500.

Is it dangerous to drive a car in snow?

Icy Windshield

These laws were not made to harass us. These laws react to the trend of dangerous driving habits which cost people their lives. Car and Driver notes that although the fine may not affect everyone equally, it’s worth thinking about the real potential impact that snow and ice can’t be removed from your car.

Jessica’s mom, Linda Smith, has something to say about it. “It doesn’t take five minutes to clean your car,” he told WMUR at the time. “It may take three seconds to kill someone.”

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Deskhttps://nationworldnews.com
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news