With a great game, Los Pumas beat Australia and shout champions

Pumas7s celebration is now a regular Photo X LosPumas7arg

The Argentine Sevens rugby team, Los Pumas 7s, beat Australia this Sunday by 45-12 (28-0) and became the champion of the tournament in Cape Town (South Africa), second stage of the Men’s World Rugby Sevens Series (SVNS), organized by World Rugby (WR).

The Pumas 7s, which recently finished runner-up in Dubai, achieved its first World Cup event. his first title in Cape Town and the seventh for Argentinaafter consecrations in Los Angeles 2004, San Diego 2009, Vancouver 2022, Hamilton 2023, Vancouver 2023 and London 2023.

In addition, with the win and the early elimination of South Africa, the champion in Dubai, they finished the second stage of the the first placement of the general table, with 38 units.

The process of the game was favorable for the team of Santiago Gómez Cora from the beginning, which took advantage of the warning from the Australian captain Nick Malouf, to score three straight tries and seal a 21-0 run with Joaquín Pellandini’s conversions. Germán Schulz, Santiago Mare and Marcos Moneta led the conquests.

Read Also:  World Cup Australia-New Zealand 2023

At the end of the first half, Matías Osadczuk scored the fourth try and Pellandini established a partial score of 28 to 0.

In the second half, Nathan Lawson and Dietrich Roache scored for Australia (28-12), but Osadczuk, Tomás Elizalde and captain Santiago Álvarez Fourcade scored in the final 45-12.

The third round of the World Cup will be held between January 26 and 28, 2024, in Perth, Australia.

This new SVNS consists of seven tournaments and a final series where the champion of the season will be determined. SVNS lasts for seven months, and It consists of 12 selected teams, they are Argentina, New Zealand, Great Britain, South Africa, United States, Ireland, Fiji, Samoa, Australia, France, Spain and Canada.

Read Also:  Cue's Energy Transfer towards Continuity

Those teams will score points in the first seven rounds. After the Sevens in Singapore, the eight best will reach the Grand Final in Madrid to fight for the season crown, while the other four teams (from 9th to 12th place) will try to stay in their category .

Those bottom four will play the top four from the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series; and the four best from that repechage will enter the SVNS main draw next year.