Saturday, December 9, 2023

World Cup 2023: Australia need more from Glenn Maxwell with the bat, says Aakash Chopra

Former India batsman Aakash Chopra says Australia needs more from all-rounder Glenn Maxwell with the bat in the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Australia will face hosts India in their opener at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai on October 8.

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: Full Coverage

Speaking on his Youtube channel, Chopra said Australia are yet to finalize a wicket-keeper, while insisting they need more from Maxwell with the bat. Maxwell scored 3,495 runs in 129 matches at an average of 33.61, while scoring 124.69.

“They haven’t finalized their keeper yet. Josh Inglis and Alex Carey are good players, but who will play in the XI? Maxwell claimed four wickets, but Australia needed him more with the bat. This is an area of ​​some concern. Spin is a potential problem they may encounter,” Chopra said.

Read Also:  M20 World Cup returns: History of the youth tournament

He went on to say that Australia might prefer Marcus Stoinis over Cameron Green because of Stoinis’ ability to go down the order better. Stoinis has amassed 1,400 runs in 64 ODIs, while Green has scored 379 runs in 20 ODIs.

“Cameron Green and Marcus Stoinis, the role is not clear. Stoinis has a very bright chance to perform because he bats better in the lower order compared to Green. The team is good, let’s see how they do. My prediction will come true they are in the top four,” added Chopra.

Chopra said that Australia is very dangerous in the knockout stages, stressing that they are one of his favorites to reach the final-four. Australia is the third ranked team in the 50-over format going into the ODI World Cup.

Read Also:  Women's team participation in the World Cup and objectives of Australia-New Zealand

“Australia is one of the favorites to reach the final four. Regardless of the conditions, I feel that Steve Smith, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell will combine to take the Aussies to the last four. If this yellow side reaches the final four, they are very dangerous in the knockouts,” said Chopra.

Australia, winners of the ODI World Cup in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015, will be looking to win a record-extending sixth title this year.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news