Monday, May 29, 2023

World Cup and Sub-20 World Cup Winning Teams: How Many?

Between 20 May and 11 June, the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup will be held, an event that was previously to be held in Indonesia, but will eventually take place in the Republic of Argentina, which as of now will claim to be a host. Because at first they did not qualify due to their poor performance in the South American category.

This led to the departure of Javier Mascherano as coach of the category, but after speaking with AFA president Claudio Tapia and backing world champion Lionel Scaloni with Major in Qatar 2022, “Jeffcito” returned to thinking it through. Gave. And finally take command.

As a preview of the competition to come, we are going to review the champion teams of both the Senior World Cup and this Under-20 World Cup.

How many teams were absolute world champions and under-20 world champions?

Below is a list of all the teams that have been successful in winning two tournaments: the Senior World Cup and the Under-20 World Cup.

Brazil has 5 Under 20 World Cups (1983, 1985, 1993, 2003, 2011) and 5 Senior World Cups, if we put the two tournaments together they also have the most number of winners and total titles. His glory years were 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

The Argentina team is the one that has won the Under-20 World Cup on the most occasions, with six dedications (1979, 1995, 1997, 2001—played in Argentina—, 2005 and 2007). It has also hosted three senior World Cups: 1978, 1986 and 2022.

France was world champion in seniors in both 1998 and 2018, while in 2013 they established themselves in Turkey by winning the final against Uruguay.

Spain achieved maximum glory in 2010 by becoming world champions in seniors for the first time in their history. They also have one title in the U-20, against Nigeria in 1999.

Germany has 4 world titles in the majors: 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014. In sub-20s, only once: 1981, in Australia.

Each competition has an English title: in the absolute it was consecrated in 1966 by being localized, while in the sub-20 it was won in Korea in 2017.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here